The Importance of Blogging Breaks

After a mini hiatus, I am slowly coming back to the blogging community! I’m beginning to write posts again and I’m starting to reply and post comments. It’s nice to be back! I hope you’re all well.

Thinking about what I could write about, I thought why not talk about how beneficial I think social media and blogging breaks are (because they really are fab!)


When I first made this blog I used to push to post three times a week. And I kept that up until quite recently. Now I aim to post once or twice a week (maybe). I’m not as strict with my blog as I used to be, and part of me does feel a level of guilt for not being as active as I used to be, but I really believe that my new, more laid-back approach is much better for my mental health.

In turn, I think cutting back on how often I post has actually made blogging more fun for me, as the stress I used to feel about creating blog posts just doesn’t exist for me anymore. I write when I feel like it, even if that means I don’t post for a little while.

Even if it means that my stats take a pretty big hit. I don’t get the same amount of views as I used to, and my follower account is pretty stagnant, and has been for a while. Last month, I got less than half the amount of views I received back in February. At first it made me feel bad to see my stats plummet but now I don’t really mind. It was one of the biggest reasons why I was reluctant to take a break, but now I just see it as a small price to pay for taking a break.

Of course, it doesn’t have to be this way! If you were planning on having a small break, you could prepare posts in advance using the schedule post option. Or you could prepare guest posts? (I’ve always wanted to do that but I have no idea how to organise one!) Taking a break doesn’t have to mean your stats take a hit – in my case they did because my blog wasn’t being updated regularly.

I’ve also made some changes on other platforms. I’ve decided to stop updating my Tumblr account, and now I only post my book reviews on there. Many of the friends I made on there aren’t active anymore, and I’ve really lost interest in the site. I also deleted all my Goodreads friends, and now only use that site to post reviews and keep track of my books. Maybe not a wise decision to make considering its a social media site, but doing this has made me spend less time on there, and I see that as a positive thing. And I also decided to no longer tweet about books on Twitter, because it simply stopped being fun for me.


So…yeah. A little post on my thoughts about blogging breaks. Have you ever taken a long break from blogging? Did you find it beneficial or not? I’d love to know your thoughts.

jess

18 thoughts on “The Importance of Blogging Breaks

  1. I totally understand where you’re coming from! I try to post as often as possible but when I went away on holiday for 2 weeks I didn’t post anything at all fot that whole time frame! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ The break was nice but at the same time its good to be back (even though I’ve more or less only just started my blog) In September I should be starting college again so will probably have to post less… But yeah breaks are a must sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Breaks are SO IMPORTANT. I take breaks quite often. Most of the time I just have at least 2 weeks worth of posts done so I just don’t have to worry about it all that much. I also stopped going on twitter as often – maybe once a month or to enter giveaways. I also started over with a new GR account, only adding my actual friends and use it to keep track. It’s so nice to take breaks – they’re definitely needed sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I take breaks regularly from blogging, I push my guilt away, because I blog for fun, no need to start over stressing myself. I could never delete my Goodreads friends, I rarely speak to them but they keep me updated with books, I get good recommendations by just looking through their updates. Twitter, I don’t have a huge presence on there and I just say what I want and I’m pretty laid back, so I can stress too much, I also take breaks when I feel like it, cause Twitter can become too much at ties. But you do you and feel good doing it Jess.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is pretty much the attitude I’ve taken on. No point in blogging if it’s not fun. And I do actually regret deleting my GR friends for that exact reason, not seeing my friends’ opinions on books makes the site less fun, but I also spend a loss less time on there which is a good thing for me, too. Thank you!

      Like

  4. I’m on blog break right now because even though I keep reading and writing reviews on GR, blogging adds too much anxiety and pressure. I have simply needed some time to experiment with other things (a Tumblr fandom blog, writing, etc). When I find something new I give it too much of myself and tend to leave the old things behind, but I think I’m slowly finding a balance between everything and hopefully I’ll manage to also add book blogging to it. Breaks are often what allows us to come back with the same and renewed enthusiasm to the things we love doing, and I love that you talked about it openly here!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have yet to take a blogging break (but I probably will; I haven’t been blogging for TOO long), but I definitely agree! I mean, I’m personally still posting on my blog, but I haven’t written any new posts in a long time, instead I’m binging TV shows, and I needed that. I know that I’ll be ready to jump back in and go back to writing new posts when I’m ready to, and don’t feel the need to force myself to.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. love this post – i just took a bit of a break too! i think it’s so important to feel able to go AWOL for a few days or weeks, even months. otherwise where’s the fun??

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I totally get how you feel! I used to post two times a week when I first started blogging, but I just couldn’t keep up with my schedule because of school. Plus, it wasn’t as enjoyable. Now I just post whenever I get the urge, which, like you said, isn’t great for the stats, but makes me feel better ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ.
    I’m glad you’re back from your break ๐Ÿ˜Š!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

