Some People Don’t Want to Read, and That’s OK

So… This is something which I think about every now and then, but it’s late and I can’t sleep so I’m writing down my thoughts. I’ve been thinking about some of the mentalities I’ve seen from some book bloggers and literature lovers in regards to people who don’t like to read. And they kinda annoy me…

This isn’t aimed at anyone in particular, I’m just bringing to light something I notice every now and then online  


A little fact about me is that I didn’t grow up loving books. I read them occasionally, but from the age of 11+ I read them simply because school forced me to. I’d known from a young age that I had a knack for English since I’d always performed well in the subject, but I had zero interest in fiction, and I personally think that there’s nothing wrong with that. I had other hobbies and interests growing up, and I did well in school regardless.

Fast forward to 18 year old me, and I was in a very dark place. It was during this time that I discovered my love for literature. I devoured so much YA fiction during this time, and even now, I seriously believe that literature saved my life. Fast forward again to the present day and I now have a English degree and hope to go on to get a Master’s later this year. And of course I have this blog, and I really do love fiction now.

So why am I talking about this? Something I’ve seen occasionally across social media is this superiority some book bloggers have over people who don’t enjoy reading, this “omg you don’t read what do you even do all day?” “If you don’t read books then I’m judging you” mentality and I hate it. I simply hate it. Some people struggle to read, some people can’t read, some people may have lack of access to literature… I just think this attitude can be really damaging, even if they’re meant in a joking way.

In my opinion, if people don’t read novels… then that’s completely fine??? I don’t see anything wrong with that. And this snobbery from book lovers toward people who don’t read is uncalled for. I don’t have this urge to force people who don’t read to pick up a book, or to make them feel bad about their lack of interest in literature. Not many people in my personal life don’t read for pleasure and it doesn’t bother me in the slightest. Because why would it? I don’t judge them or make fun of them for it. Because they have a bunch of other interests that make them happy, much like fiction makes me happy, and that’s an amazing thing to have.

I discovered my love for fiction entirely on my own at quite a late age (for this community, anyways), and of course I think fiction is wonderful. But I feel that if I had been aware of these sorts of opinions beforehand, it would have really put me off reading. I understand that comments such as the ones above are from book lovers who simply want to shout about how awesome literature is, but I just don’t think those kinds of comments are effective. But maybe I’m just being a over-sensitive baby about all this…


I’d love to know your thoughts. Do you believe that there is this snobbery amongst book lovers towards people who don’t read? How did you discover your love for literature? Let me know in the comments  😉

 jess

8 thoughts on “Some People Don’t Want to Read, and That’s OK

  1. I agree with a lot of this. I read when I was younger but I definitely didn’t pick it up as a REAL interest until maybe 3-4 years ago. So, in my 20s. Totally late for this community. It also means I’m SO behind on the “hip” books. I also don’t read nearly as much as other people do and sometimes that “you don’t read???” mentality is a little annoying. The only time I’ve ever felt that way towards someone is when someone makes fun of me for reading. I don’t have a lot of real life friends who read, and then there are a few in the group that I know that make fun of the fact that my hobby is reading. Which just makes me want to smack them. haha great discussion!

    Like

  2. I totally agree! When I was in junior high and early high school, I blew through books insanely fast. But when I got into Grade 12 and university, I had to stop reading because I’d way rather read than study, but I need to study for school. So I only really read during the summer and winter breaks, but I feel like so many book bloggers judge that? Like if I’m not reading all through the year, it somehow makes me a worse fan or something?? idk the “I’m better than you because *I* read all the time” mentality is really pretentious and annoying

    Like

  3. Totally agree with you, Jess! I’m guilty of acting this way when I was younger, but as the years went by I realized how totally inappropriate and stupid it was to judge someone based on their hobbies.
    I think it might have stemmed from the fact that I was quite the bookworm pretty much since ever, and always found my refuge in books. A lot of people didn’t understand this and made fun of it or criticized me. So I guess I began to hate all non-readers (although not all of them were like this, of course). I developed this defensive mechanism where I made fun of them, instead, which was very immature.
    But I get that now and will no longer say anything about it, unless they say it to me first. If so, they most definitely end up getting a piece of my mind. To all of those other nice non-readers, I’ll be all too happy to discuss their other hobbies and tastes.
    Great post! 🙂

    Like

  4. I definitely agree with this post! Just as us readers don’t like it when others say “all you do is read”, I am sure some people feel a way when readers tell them “omg how can you not read?”…I’m with the mindset of letting people be when it comes to these types of situations. I know a few people who don’t like to read but we aren’t down each others throats because of it. They respect my hobbies and I respect theirs. I wish more people thought like you.

    Like

  5. Honestly, I do think everyone should read at least a little bit. The percentage of people who read just one book per year is actually very small. I’d love it if people would read something, once in a while. But, yeah, not everyone is going to read 100 books per year and I get that people have different hobbies. If I don’t want people asking me questions like, “What do you MEAN you don’t snowboard/swim/watch TV???” then I’m not going to harass people about not reading.

    Like

  6. I love this post! I grew up loving reading, so I can’t connect to the other side, but I think it’s super important in general not to be judgey about things people like and dislike. I personally don’t like TV that much anymore and people are like “How do you live? What do you do in your free time” and I’m like uhh read? So if people don’t like to read, that’s okay too! It really is a personal preference, just like TV and movies and music is too.

    Like

  7. Ooh, I’ve been reading since a very young age, and I don’t know why. I just liked it, and I still like it. 😂 I personally have pretty much nobody in my life who reads, which has never personally bothered me since I don’t think they’d read what I read anyway! I think I’ve always just ended up talking about books online somewhere, and it’s clearly changed every few years. 😄

    I know I definitely get the same thing from non-reading people when they act confused that I read for fun, though, so it goes both ways, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply!

