#T5W: Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. This week’s topic is favourite children’s books! For this topic, I’ve decided to pick children’s novels I read as a child. I’ve mentioned this numerous times on this blog, but I didn’t read much as a child – mostly it was required reading for school. But I’ve managed to come up with five children’s books I read as a kid.


1. Captain Underpants

CU

These books were so fun! I think because it’s about a superhero named Captain Underpants and it’s ridiculous and even now I have such a childish sense of humour. But these books were really fun.

2. Horrible Histories

HH

LOVED these books!! I was a history nerd as a kid and I used to really look forward to reading these. I especially loved the scratch ‘n’ sniff books. There was a medicine edition and I remember one of the smells in that book was absolutely horrific I remember it so vividly like over a decade later.

3. The Very Hungry Caterpillar

TVHC

Obvious, but I actually read this quite recently with my niece and it’s cute. Don’t really get the hype though?

4. Biff, Chip, and Kipper books

BCK

I think loads of British kids had to read these for school – but I remember enjoying them a lot. Which is a good thing because there are HUNDREDS of these books. I can’t imagine how many hours I spend reading these for homework…

5. Gez Walsh poetry books

GW

I’m not even a big fan of poetry but these books were loads of fun! Again, I think it’s because they’re gross and silly and kids love that sort of stuff. Also, I’m pretty sure I still own this book…


So those are my choices! I’d love to know what your favourite children’s novel is, or what novels you read as a child  ❤

jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

4 thoughts on “#T5W: Children’s Books

  1. I think the hype with The Very Hungry Caterpillar is that it’s easy for younger kids to read who are just learning how to read. I think I still have my original copy of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply!

