Standalone Sunday #8

Standalone Sunday was created by Megan @bookslayerReads, and I haven’t made a post in over two months, and that is simply unacceptable! My Standalone Sunday this week is…

TBT

Title: The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Genre: YA; Historical

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I originally bought the eBook of this novel years ago and while I love reading eBooks, I feel that the format doesn’t really gel well with this type of novel. So I gave up on it, and later that same year, I picked up the paperback to try it again. And I think this novel is amazing. Lovable characters, beautiful writing and illustrations. I think it’s really unique having Death be the narrator of the novel, too. It’s so moving. Like, I got the biggest ever book hangover after this novel. It’s that good. But be warned, it’ll break your heart!

Recommend to: Anyone who hasn’t yet read it! I also think it’s a great novel for people who don’t really read much historical fiction, but are interested in trying it out (like me!)


Have you read The Book Thief? What were your thoughts?

And apologies for the shorter post – I’m struggling with blogging lately!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

6 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday #8

Leave a Reply!

