Books That Have Sat on my Shelf For Years

I’m writing this at 3am and job hunting is both mind-numbing and soul-destroying, so I’m making a random bookish post. Last week I finally got round to cleaning my book shelf and I think it looks really cute now, but so many times I came across a paperback I bought years ago and then completely forgot about, so this is a post calling myself out for abandoning books and wasting money. Nice one, Jess.

Also, this isn’t counting fiction I bought for uni because we don’t have all day  😛


TSOTF

The Shock of the Fall – Nathan Filer

I bought this because it has mental illness rep, and I think I just never got round to it because it’s a sensitive topic for me, but also because the rep in the book seems really intense (I don’t know this for sure, though). I’m undecided on whether I’ll read this or not – it has pretty mixed review on GR, too.

Verdict: Maybe one day…

BSOG

Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

I’ve heard so many good things, but given that the novel takes place during WWII and includes some heavy topics, I haven’t gotten round to reading it. Over the past two years or so, I’ve really avoided heavier topics in fiction, instead choosing cheesy romance books. But I would like to read this at some point though because it sounds interesting and my GR friends all seem to love it.

Verdict: Keep

MTT

More Than This – Patrick Ness

I bought this from Amazon after reading A Monster Calls because it was awesome and I wanted to read more Ness novels, but I still haven’t read it. The cover is really eye-catching but the synopsis gives next-to-nothing away! I’m not even sure what the book is about. But I would like to read it. It sounds interesting and again has great reviews by my friends on GR.

Verdict: Keep

SYBG

Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

The synopsis of this novel sounds really cute and fun, and I really don’t know why I haven’t read it yet…

Verdict: Keep

THT

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

I almost wrote my dissertation on this but ended up picking a different topic, but I do plan on reading it at some point because it seems to be a modern-day classic. Although I could just watch the Netflix adaptation instead…

Verdict: Maybe one day…

ATBP

All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

I bought this randomly at a supermarket because I needed change for the bus, but I probably won’t read this… I’m pretty sure I read somewhere it has problematic rep in regards to mental illness so I’m gonna pass.

Verdict: Give up

CINDER

Cinder – Marissa Meyer

This cover is stunning! I do still plan on reading this because it really does sound awesome and I’ve heard such good things, but nowadays fantasy is a hard genre for me to get into. I bought this back when I read a lot of YA fantasy, but I can’t even remember the last fantasy novel I read and I just struggle to read it now, but I would like to give this novel a try.

Verdict: Keep

TH

The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien

Again, fantasy is tough for me to read. I remember buying this with the plan to read it before the first Hobbit movie came out… LOL. I don’t think I’ll read this, but I also feel a sense of guilt for giving up on such a classic.

Verdict: Maybe one day..


So those are the unread paperbacks on my bookshelf. I’m surprised by how many I actually still want to read after all these years. I haven’t read a paperback novel in almost a year, so it’s kinda nice to know that if I fancy a change in formats, I have one of these books waiting for me on my shelf.

So what about you? How many unread books do you own?? And answer honestly! This is a no-shame zone 🙂

jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

13 thoughts on “Books That Have Sat on my Shelf For Years

  1. A trunk full of unread books!! but cant throw them away. I seem to have grown an attachment with them as they were with me for quite long. Will get around to reading at least some of them soon. 🙂 In the meantime I still continue to buy more.

    Like

  2. Between Shades of Gray is such a good book. I very highly recommend it!! It’s definitely not a book to read if you’re looking for a heartwarming, feel-good story though, haha. I’ve had Cinder, The Handmaid’s Tale, and The Hobbit on my shelves for years too. I’ll get to them eventually, haha.

    Like

  3. I own a lot of books I haven’t read yet 🙈🙈🙈. I try to only buy books that I have read now.

    I have all of them stacked on my dresser and it’s overwhelimg. They are all books I’m super excited to read though so I don’t feel as bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Since You’ve Been Gone! It’s a great summer read. And I actually enjoyed All the Bright Places, but I may not be too knowledgeable on accurate representations of mental illness in books so that may be why. I thought it did a good job of showing the different kinds of depression and getting over the whole “love can save and cure everything trope.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • It looks so cute and I have no idea why it’s still unread on my shelf! And I still want to read more reviews before I decide whether to read it or not, because admittedly, I can’t really remember what was said in the particular review I read, but for now I won’t read it 😛 MI books are tough for me to read

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cinder is actually more sci-fi than fantasy so maybe that might help you read it soon! I can’t believe you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet; it’s so good! 😀

    I have More Than This, The Shock of the Fall, and The Handmaid’s Tale on my TBR as well. I used to have Since You’ve Been Gone there, too, but I don’t really like contemporary much, so I feel like I’d be wasting my time!

    Like

Leave a Reply!

