Books That Got Me Through Difficult Times

I like doing posts like this because I can just post about my feelings all while writing about books. I’m going through a bit of a difficult time right now, and I figured why not write about the books that have gotten me through some difficult times in the past. So that’s what this post is gonna be 😛


jl

Just Listen – Sarah Dessen

I think this was one of the first books I willingly read in my late teens. Even though reading for fun was a pretty new thing for me, I really found comfort in books, and I remember I got really into Sarah Dessen novels back then. And Just Listen is one of my favourite Dessen novels!

perks

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

I was obsessed when I first read this! I thought it was such a beautiful and unique book when I first read it. Pretty sure I read it all in one sitting, too.

tfc

All for the Game Series – Nora Sakavic

I was reading this series around this time last year. I was in my final year of uni with a dissertation deadline looming, and I just thought fuck everything and I picked this series up because it was everywhere on Tumblr. It’s a slow starting trilogy I think but it is sooo good! I definitely think a re-read is on the cards soon.

eap

Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

I remember picking this up when I first started uni. That was a tough time for me because I really struggle with meeting new people because I’m so shy, so starting uni in a new city was pretty tough at first. I loved this book so much that I read it twice in the space of four days! I have since been made aware of why this book is problematic, but I really did love this book when I first read it, and it was a reprieve from the scary time that was starting uni.

hmiy

Hello Me, It’s You – Anonymous (ed. Hannah Todd)

The most recently read book out of this list. I found it on NetGalley late last year and devoured it. Hello Me, It’s You is a collection of letters from young people with experiences of mental illnesses, and I thought it was such a comforting and optimistic book. Really recommend it! (My five star review is here.)

ca

The Infernal Devices Series – Cassie Clare

I read this series around four years ago now. That’s insane to me! I was in a pretty bad way when I read this series, and even now it’s one of my favourite series. I remember I was mid-way through Clockwork Princess when I got dragged to my mam’s birthday party, and the entire time I was waiting to go home so that I could continue reading it. I love this series!!

tfios

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

This book got me through some bad times! I remember being really attached to it around the times I failed my A-Levels (whoops) and my future was so up in the air at that point! It was such a scary time for me, but it lead me to YA fiction and I’m so lucky to have found a love for literature at a time when I really needed it! I know John Green gets made fun of but I’m so grateful to have discovered his YouTube channel and his books, because they were such a comfort for me during a very tough time in my life.


So those are my stand out books that have gotten me through tough times! I’d love to know what novels/films/TV shows have brought you comfort when you needed it most  ❤

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

26 thoughts on “Books That Got Me Through Difficult Times

  1. TPOBAW is amazing and affected me so much emotionally. I wrote a quick blog post reviewing it the other day. I feel like I’m at the start of a very long journey of trying to sort out all the shit in my mind and I don’t know if I’m ready to revisit the book yet because, for lack of a better phrase, I feel like it kinda fucked with my head a little. When I am straightened out I can’t wait to re read it again and again 🙂 Great post xx

    https://tenmoreminutesblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your post! Contemporaries definitely reliable for readers to relate to. I still have yet to read many books on your list. If you haven’t read A List of Cages, that book is life changing too. At least, it makes me aware of others a bit more 🙂 I will have to plan on reading Just Listen and the Perks of being a Wallflower 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I adore Just Listen and The Infernal Devices! Those two are definitely ones that have gotten me through tough times too. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios is another book that was/is a comfort read for me. Also, possibly The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon but more so in a way that I needed to escape into a new fantasy world when I first picked it up. Great list! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom has been a massive source of comfort to me during times of depression and suicidal thoughts. I love the author’s interpretation of what is waiting for us on the other side, and the ultimate message of the book – that no life is a waste. My favourite quote – “Each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. John Green has gotten me through some tough times, too. I have a habit of rereading Paper Towns when I start to feel like I need to think about what OTHER people are feeling for a little while. I had a quote from it stuck on my bedroom wall for YEARS, where Radar tells Quentin to stop expecting all his friends to act in the way that Quentin would. That quote blew my miiiind when I was 17.

    And Just Listen. That book <3. I must have read it at least 10 times.

    I hope things start to get easier for you soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh so many fantastic books on this list! I love Eleanor & Park, the Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Fault in Our Stars. Whenever I need a comfort book of sorts my go-to is usually Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur would also be a great book for getting through tough times. Love this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Foxhole Court got me through some terrible times as well, and I still think about all the hardships its characters had to go through whenever I feel down and I’m like “if they could do it, so can I”.
    I’m sorry you’re having a difficult time now as well, I hope you find strength in books (and manga, and anime, and all the things you like) ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

