#T5W: Favourite Angsty Romances

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. I haven’t participated all month because I’ve decided to cut back on the tag, and only do it a couple times a month instead of every Wednesday. Anyway, this week’s topic is favourite angsty romances. A perfect topic for me!


1. Jem & Tessa & Will – The Infernal Devices – Cassie Clare

CA

This trilogy has very high levels of angst. Mostly from Will. I love it!

2. Futaba & Kou – Ao Haru Ride – Io Sakisaka

AO

I couldn’t NOT put manga on this list, that would be a massive missed opportunity! I haven’t really read much romance manga but this is the one that stands out for me in terms of angst. A first love, second chance, AND a high school romance. A very angsty mix it makes.

3. Hayden & Tenley – Clipped Wings – Helena Hunting

CW

I’ve read Helena’s other series which is so funny and silly so I wasn’t expecting this novel to be so dark and intense! This series also makes me want to get a bunch of tattoos and piercings.

4. Maise & Evan – Unteachable – Elliot Wake

UNTEACH

Suuuper intense and full of angst. Since it’s a student/teacher romance though that’s pretty much a given.

5. Clementine & Emma – Blue is the Warmest Colour – Julie Maroh

BLUE

Angst! I’m still very sad about this graphic novel  😦


So those are my choices! What are your favourites, romance readers? Also, please give me your angsty romance recs!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

16 thoughts on “#T5W: Favourite Angsty Romances

  1. I haven’t read any of the books on this list – but they all sound amazing! I really want to pick up the Infernal Devices soon since she is writing a new trilogy about their decedents. And I love the way Cassandra Clare writes angst. It gets me in the feels every time!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply!

