Book Review: Fit – Rebekah Weatherspoon

Title: Fit
Series: Fit Trilogy #1
Author: Rebekah Weatherspoon
Publication Date: June 3rd, 2014
Shelves: Contemporary; Romance
Format: Kindle Edition (83 pages)
Rating: ★★★☆☆ 2.5 stars

fitGoodreads Synopsis:

Violet Ryan loves the delicious food she gets to eat on the reality shows she produces for The Food Channel. What she hates is her expanding waistline. Determined to drop the pounds, Violet hatches a plan to kick start a fitness regimen. But when her determination isn’t enough to get her through even one intense group class without breaking down into tears, she knows she needs a new approach and possibly a new trainer—one with a lighter touch.

Grant Gibson has always managed to mix business with pleasure, but now this trainer by day, and Dominant by night, is bored. Bored and lonely. Even though he owns one of L.A.’s hottest private gyms, his personal life is sorely lacking. After his last submissive tried to kidnap his dog and the contents of his bank account, he’s in no hurry to take a new lover under his wing. Not until the voluptuous Violet falls into his lap.

She may be wary of his unorthodox approach of using sexual gratification as a reward, but even before her initial weigh-in Violet can’t seem to stay away from the sexy fitness god. She may have to let Grant show her there’s more than one way to get in shape…

littlereview

Grant reached into his pocket and pulled out a black business card, then handed it to Violet. She looked at the cream and red lettering.

Grant Gibson Owner/Trainer Melrose Fitness

It should have read: Dom/Smooth Operator/Professional Buffoon/Can’t Read Women For Shit

Piling on the pounds due to her job as a producer for cooking shows, Violet Ryan is determined to shed some weight. After a terrible experience at an intense workout class, she is recommended Grant Gibson, a personal trainer who is known for his gentle training approach. Grant seems like a great way for Violet to lose weight, but she is surprised to discover that Grant has more to offer her than his fitness expertise…

After finding out about his potential new client, Grant Gibson searches for Violet Ryan on social media, and is thrilled to see that she meets his criteria for a submissive. But when he mentions his desire to have her be his sub during their first meeting, he is convinced he has completely blown it with her. Taking a chance on him, Violet accepts Grant’s offer, and they begin an unconventional relationship together.

I found this novel through Twitter, and after seeing that it had a plus-sized, American-Chinese MC, I was very interested in reading it. After a look on Goodreads, I saw that it was a personal trainer/client romance, and while this is such a massive cliché, I was surprised when I realised that I had never actually read a romance novel based around that trope before. So I was excited to give this novella a go!

So… I don’t really have a lot to say about the two MCs. Violet was entertaining throughout and, while I thought she made some poor and questionable choices, I really did enjoy her character overall. As for Grant, it took me a while to warm up to him. He sees Violet as a potential submissive as soon as he sees her photos on social media (before he’d even met her), and yet he still sought out a professional relationship with her, when he knew he wanted her to be his submissive, too… If they had a working relationship that morphed into a sexual/romantic one, I could get behind that, but she agreed to be both his client and his sub at the same time, and this just felt weird to me… But I thought Grant became more likeable as the story progressed (though he refers to Violet as his “pet” during a conversation with his friend who is also into BDSM, and it was such an uncomfortable moment!)

I did like their chemistry! I thought they were a great match. Maybe that’s why their arrangement irked me so much. I think it’s a bit of a waste to have these two characters with great, natural-feeling chemistry and just shove them together into a sub/dom relationship very early in the novella (though I understand that the length of the novel may have played a part in this). The BDSM in this is really light (it was barely there), and more time was spent talking about it than doing it… I didn’t really see the point of it.

The plot was a big reason why I read this novel. A romance cliché that I hadn’t actually read yet! But I feel slightly let down. I don’t know if it’s because the novella was so short but I feel like nothing really happened. The main focus of this novella was Violet, which I liked because she’s the best thing about it. But so much time was spent in these character’s heads, thinking, worrying, day-dreaming about each other, as opposed to them actually being together. I just felt really detached from this novel.

conclude

Fit was a short, fun read with a really entertaining MC. But I think the length of this novel was restricting overall.

Until next time!
jess

Would you read this novel again? No, but I plan on reading the rest of the series
Who would I recommend this novel to? NA readers, romance readers who want to ease into erotica/BDSM

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Fit – Rebekah Weatherspoon

  1. […] New to you author: Iris After The Incident – Mina V. Esguerra [review to come] A book set in summer: Relationship Status – K.A. Mitchell [review] A book you knew nothing about: Read My Lips – Daryl Banner [review] Start of a new series: The Partnership – Charlotte Penn Clark [review] One word title: Fit – Rebekah Weatherspoon [review] […]

    Like

Leave a Reply!

