The Book Fests Award

Thank you to Ryann @RyannTheReader for nominating me for the Book Fests award (your blog is so pretty!). I’ve never actually seen this tag/award on WordPress before so I’m very curious to see what it’s about!  ❤

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you with a link to their blog.
  • Answer the award questions that will be listed below.
  • Write a Fifty-Word Story, because it’s fun.
  • Nominate five or more bloggers with this Award.
  • Ask them a question of your making you would like them to answer.
  • Put up the award image badge on your blog via image widget.


Questions:

1. A book you started, never finished, but want to finish. What stopped you from continuing to read it?

1

I have so many! Lolita and Pride and Prejudice are two examples. Lolita has a difficult subject matter and I found P&P to be such a drag when I tried to read it a few years ago. I’ll get there eventually.

2. What elements attract you to a book, which makes you need to read it?

The book cover (I won’t pretend that it doesn’t have an impact on me), if it’s an author I’m familiar with, reader recommendations from book bloggers and Goodread’s reviews influence what I read a lot!

3. Which do you prefer: e-copies or hard copies?

I really do love both but I just don’t read physical copies anymore. I think the last time I did was in April of last year.

4. What book are you currently reading, or going to read?

rs

As I’m writing this, I am reading Relationship Status, the final novel in the Ethan and Wyatt trilogy (I’m lucky to have received an ARC from NetGalley).

5. Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

I don’t think so. Books are almost always better than the movie in my experience.

6. What book did you badly judge by its cover and end up loving?

anna

Anna and the French Kiss. It was actually more to do with the name of the book (the cover I own is actually pretty cute) and I thought that it sounded really childish but it was pretty fun. (I’ve read books with way worse names since then!)

7. Which book character have you felt the most kin with and able to relate to?

jod

I really liked Alyson from Just One Day. I think this actually was my answer in a previous tag  😛

Ryann’s Question:

What’s the first book you can remember that got you really excited about reading and why?

I remember I used to be part of a weekly reading club when I was 8 or 9 years old, and while I can’t remember any specific titles, I used to absolutely love that club!

Fifty-Word Story (not really):

I really can’t write creatively. I’m a complete disappointment. I have an English degree and I can’t write stories if my life depended on it. I love reading but sometimes I can’t actually believe people put themselves through the hardship of writing a novel, and then getting it published… Madness.

book-fests-award


Nominations: If you’re reading this, you’re nominated!

My question is: What qualities make you follow someone’s blog? (blog layout, content, etc.)

Agree/disagree with my answers? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

22 thoughts on “The Book Fests Award

  1. Congratulations on the award! 🙂
    I think I wouldn’t be able to read Lolita, considering the subject matter… Even though a lot of people praise it for its quality.
    I thought the same thing about Anna and The French Kiss when I first saw it. And then was surprised so many people were raving about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Believe it or not, I haven’t read any of these books! But I’m like you about book covers and e-books… book covers are always the first thing that attracts me to a book (as I’m sure it is like that for a lot of us), and I also prefer e-books to physical books. I have a lot of physical books on my shelf, but for the last couple years I’ve read mostly e-books on the Kindle app on my iPad. I just love that I can take my books anywhere with me. As long as my iPad or iPhone are with me, then I have my books with me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for those kind words! 🙂

    I’m the same way with Pride and Prejudice! I know i’s considered a classic, and one of my friends swears by Jane Austen, so I want to read it. But both times I’ve tried to, I got about a third of the way through the book and nothing had really happened, so I gave up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations!❤️
    I absolutely LOVED Anna and the French Kiss and Just One Day, too! And OMG yes, Alyson was sooo relatable!
    Also, I definitely agree with you about creative writing- I used to be able to write many stories when I was little, but now I’ve just lost that ability and my stories have no depth to them, haha! Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

