#T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. This week’s topic is novels that will get you out of a reading slump. Sadly, I experience reading slumps so often so this list will be reads that have personally gotten me out of reading slumps, and for me these reads tend to be cute contemporaries 🙂


1. Attachments – Rainbow Rowell

attach

I like Attachments a lot, and whereas Fangirl and Eleanor and Park put me in serious reading slumps, Attachments got me obsessed with reading back when I first read it.

2. Sincerely Carter – Whitney G.

sc

I remember reading this novel randomly one day, and I really enjoyed it. It’s such a cute friends to lovers college romance.

3. The Lover’s Dictionary – David Levithan

tld

I read this on a train journey one day back when I was a student and I really liked it. It was a change for me to read this more poetic YA book and it’s a book that stuck with me years later. Really recommend it if you have an hour to spare.

4. Pucked Series – Helena Hunting

pucked

I read the first Pucked novel after Colleen Hoover’s Ugly Love, which I’m sure put me in a slump for a while, and this series is such fun – just really lighthearted with a bunch of funny characters.

5. Graffiti Moon – Cath Crowley

gm

I’ve actually read this book twice, and I re-read it shortly after I read A Song of Achilles. The second time I read it was on another train journey (from London, that time) and it was so much fun! The train journey was so chill and quiet and I just sat with my head in the book the entire time. Probably the nicest experience on public transport I’ve had in my life!


Do you experience reading slumps? What novels have gotten you out of a reading slump?? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

12 thoughts on “#T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

  1. The only reading slump I really reminder is after finishing the Unearthly trilogy because the ending just didn’t sit right with me and I felt like we didn’t get all the answers we needed. I sometimes don’t read as much, but I don’t consider those times reading slumps.

    I remember reading Graffiti Moon one night. I think I had just finished another book and was still in the mood to read, so I picked that one up and basically read it start to finish! I really think I need to read more contemporaries rather than always reading my fantasy series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

