#T5W: Favourite Non-Written Novels

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. This week’s topic is favourite non-written novels/fiction. I was slightly confused as to what this meant, so here’s the explanation from Goodreads:

This is about all books that are not ‘written’ novels! So graphic novels, comics, manga, audiobooks, etc. Shed some light on books in other forms.

And I actually have many to choose from which is great, so here are five of my favourite non-written fiction:


1. Blue is the Warmest Colour by Julie Maroh (Graphic Novel)

Blue follows French high school student Clementine as she struggles to come to terms with her sexuality after feeling an instant attraction toward Emma, the beautiful girl with blue hair she spots in public.

biswc

I really like this graphic novel. The art style is gorgeous and I thought the story was pretty heartbreaking

2. Check, Please! by Ngozi Ukazu (Online Comic)

Check, Please! centres on vlogger and baker Eric Bittle, as he starts college at Samwell University and joins the college’s ice hockey team, despite having a phobia of being checked on the ice. As a result, Eric receives extra training from the team captain Jack Zimmerman, and while their relationship is frosty at first, Eric slowly develops feelings for his teammate.

chp

A friend recommended this Tumblr comic to me, and I devoured it! It’s so much fun, has beautiful, colourful illustrations, and has a bunch of lovable characters. I really recommend it if you want lots of fluff and laughs. (here’s the link if you’re interested!).

3. Ao Haru Ride by Io Sakisaka (Manga)

After being shut out by the girls at her middle school due to her cute appearance, Futaba is eager to shed her good girl image to make herself less attractive to boys. The only boy Futaba was ever interested in suddenly left school after a miscommunication between them, and since then, she has wondered what happened to him. 

ahr

I watched the anime of this and loved it, but the anime finished without a solid enough ending for me so I resorted to the manga, and I’d say it’s my favourite manga I’ve read. I love the nostalgic feels this manga gives me, and there’s lots of romance if you’re like me and love cheesy highschool romances.

4. Beautiful Player by Christina Lauren (Audiobook)

While Hanna Bergstrom is excelling in graduate school, she is neglecting her social life as a result. Her brother suggests she get in contact with his old friend Will Sumner, to help Hanna get out more and reintroduce her to the dating scene.

bp

I actually read this novel first, but downloaded the audiobook on a whim and I think it’s so much more entertaining listening to it. Christina Lauren audiobooks are all very good quality, with great narrators, but I think this audiobook is my favourite of the bunch.

5. Cabin Pressure by John Finnemore (Radio Show)

Receiving an air-plane in her most recent divorce, Carolyn Knapp-Shappey decides to use this plane to open her own small airline, My Jet Now. On a tight budget however, Carolyn hires the cheapest pilots she can find, and has also roped her son into serving passengers.

cp

I haven’t listened to Cabin Pressure in years (I still haven’t listened to the last episode either), but I remember being in such a bad way back when I did listen to this radio show, and I feel this massive amount of gratitude for this series because it got me through such bad times. Also this series is so funny! I need to finish it at some point.


What are your favourite ‘non-written’ novels? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

8 thoughts on “#T5W: Favourite Non-Written Novels

Leave a Reply!

