The Liebster Award

I was nominated by Sophie @BlameItOnChocolate and Abby and Erica @YouOtterRead for the Liebster award – thank you all so much!!

Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  • Nominate 11 people and give them 11 different questions to answer.


Sophie’s Questions:

1. What is your favourite art movement? (Impressionism, Surrealism…)

I’d say Modernism but it’s so hard to choose just one!

2. What was the weirdest thing a stranger ever told you?

I remember a couple of summers ago an old guy driving his car literally stopped to point out to me how pale I am. It was just so weird! Not only that he felt the need to tell me something I already clearly know, but that he actually stopped his car to say it.

3. Do you get motion sick while reading in the car/bus/train?

Nope! I have so many great memories of reading on trains. Never read on the bus/in the car though.

4. The best advice someone has ever given you?

Probably to just focus on you and to not let other people’s successes make you feel bad about yourself. That there isn’t this one ‘right’ path. Everyone is on different tracks and there’s nothing wrong with that. This was something that plagued me when I was in my late teens; the constant feeling that all my friends and peers were so much more successful and further ahead than I was in every way.

5. What time of the day are you most productive?

Probably night-time. I do a lot of writing at night (like right now), but even back when I was a student I did a lot of essay writing all through the night. I like the quiet and no interruptions.

6. Would you rather be a villain or a hero in a story, and why?

Hero, though I do think villains make more fun and interesting characters.

7. If you were a type of candy/snack, which one would you be?

 I think I’d be a savoury snack – kinda boring but it’s better than going hungry  😛

8. Pirates or ninjas, and why?

This is so hard! I think being a pirate sounds fun though (minus the scurvy, of course).

9. What was your favourite thing to do when you were a kid?

I had a really nice childhood. I think my fondest memories are during summertime when I just used to be outside all summer playing. So yeah, out playing with my brothers and my friends.

10. Favourite and least favourite tropes in literature/cinematography/etc?

Literature: Favourite – unreliable narrators/enemies to lovers
Least favourite –  women hating each other/main character is special and above everyone else/stereotypical marginalised characters

11. If you could change a single thing happening in the world right now, what would it be?

HA! SO many things… 2017 has been a total shit show so far.

Abby and Erica’s Questions:

1. What is your favourite classic book?

I love 1984 and Mrs Dalloway!

2. What is a book you started and never finished?

Lolita – I do want to finish it though, the subject matter makes me uncomfortable.

3. Which book do you think should be made into a movie but hasn’t been yet?

The Night Circus! It would be so so beautiful!

4. Which book did you read as a child and still list among your favourites today?

I actually didn’t read many novels as a child, and I can’t think of any that I still love today.

5. Favourite book with an animal in it?

Aristotle and Dante – I love Ari’s dog, Legs! Also I’m not a big HP fan but I love Hedwig  😦

6. What is your favourite genre and which book would you recommend from it?

I’d say contemporary/realistic fiction is my favourite genre, and a recommendation (though not a favourite) would be My Life Next Door, which I was kinda surprised by how much I liked it. It’s a really cute, realistic summer romance. I can’t choose a favourite though, it’s too difficult!

7. Is there a book that you consider required reading but haven’t read yet?

Pride and Prejudice, it was literally required reading for me a couple of years ago and I didn’t finish it…

8. Be honest, do you ever judge (or choose) a book by its cover?

Of course!! I think it’s very difficult NOT to.

9. What is your favourite book to give as a gift or your favourite book that you’ve received as a gift?

I don’t give or receive books from people (I bought my ex a Kindle, I think that’s the closest I’ve got). Not many people in my life read books for fun.

10. Why did you decide to become a book blogger?

I’ve been a blogger since 2012/13 on a different site, but I wanted a more professional blog so I joined WordPress last summer.

11. When was the last time you went to the library?

Probably around ten months ago, though that was my university library. I was not there for a good time…

liebsteraward.png


Tags:
Mikaela
Kristen
A.J
Adele
Chelsea
Silvia

No obligation to do this as always! 

And my questions are:
1. An item you can’t live without?
2. Favourite children’s TV show growing up?
3. A song you associate with a happy memory?
4. How did you come up with your blog name?
5. Sunset or sunrise?
6. Current fictional character crush (if any)?
7. Do you have any pets?
8. How do you usually spend your Saturday nights?
9. Favourite season?
10. A novel or movie that moved you to tears?
11. Who was your best friend growing up, and are you still friends with them?

Thanks again to Sophie, Abby, and Erica for tagging me!
Until next time!
jess
Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

9 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. This was a very enjoyable post to read! You definitely have very nice answers 😊
    I really love your advice and can absolutely relate as when I was younger, I found myself in the very same situation. I guess we all go through it at some point? So, yeah, that’s amazing advice right there!
    I also agree with your tropes choices. Especially the enemies turned lovers one and girls hating each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like it’s something almost everyone experiences but nobody talks about? It was such an awful time in my life when I thought I was ‘behind’ my friends and peers in terms of how much I’d achieved or experienced in comparison to them.
      And girl hate – I just don’t get why it’s so common, when you first notice it you seem to see it a LOT in literature. Not only is it toxic but it’s also so boring?? I need more books where groups of girl friends support each other 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Totally! Even if it’s just two best friends, I’ll take it ^^ Enough with the bad examples!
        I guess people don’t always like to address past issues, especially if they’ve overcome them already. It’s an awkward subject, after all.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

