Blogger Recognition Award

Thank you to Jamie @TheComicVault for nominating me for the Blogger Recognition award! Definitely visit his blog if you like comics/graphic novels! It’s been a while since my last award and I’m always so flattered when I receive one  🙂

Rules:
– Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
– Write a post to show your award.
– Give a brief story of how your blog started.
– Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
– Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
– Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.


How/why I started Beaucoupbooks:

I’ve had a Tumblr account for around five years now (yikes), but I noticed that the friends I made on there seemed to stop using the site as much, and I started to feel really bored and unhappy on there as a result. So after I graduated, I wanted to step up my blogging game and create a more ‘professional’ blog on a new website. Signing up to WordPress was a no brainer, and I thought of the name Beaucoupbooks for my blog (beaucoup means many/much in French) and I thought it sounded cute so I stuck with it.

Two pieces of advice for new bloggers:

1. Try not to become obsessed with stats.

I remember back in 2012 I was so obsessed with the number of followers I had on Tumblr to the point where I was really unhappy with the website. I spent so much time creating content for the sake of likes/reblogs as opposed to actually having fun. So when I created this site I was adamant to not let my blog stats affect me, because I wanted my blog to be a fun and happy place for me to write about literature and meet lots of people. And I really do enjoy being on this site! So my first piece of advice is to try and not feel bad if your blog isn’t growing as quickly as you hoped or if no one comments on your latest post. Being happy and having fun is the main thing, I think.

2. Interaction is important!

If you can find the time, try to talk to other bloggers: leave comments, ask questions, interact with each other. No way would I be having the fun I’m having if it wasn’t for the communication I have with other bloggers on this site. Though I will say that it can become quite overwhelming when you’re following so many people, and don’t feel bad when some posts slip through the cracks, or you simply can’t think of something to comment on a post. I’d say it’s an impossible task to comment on every post from every blog you follow, especially when you follow so many of them. I also think interaction with others is also really educational and eye-opening – the views and opinions of my blogger friends are so interesting to me, no matter the subject. So my second piece of advice is to talk to other bloggers, even if it’s a simple comment like “Great review/post!” I’m sure that person would really appreciate it.

blogger-award


Tags:
Melissa @BookNerdMomo
Silvia @SilviaReadsBooks
Lauren @WonderlessReviews
Fadwa @WordWonders
Charlotte @CharlotteAnnelise
Sarah @LittleReader
Stephanie @TeacherOfYA
Ninoshka @EnchantedReaders
Puput @SparklingLetters
Lauren & Vanessa @Partner{in}Reading
Mikaela @TheWell-ThumbedReader
Amy @InkySpells
Lois & David @LoisReadsBooks

No obligation as always (it’s tough picking people to tag!!)

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

25 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Excellent advice, Jess ♥!! Those are both super important pieces of information. Don’t worry about being on Tumblr for 5 years, I’ve been on that site since 2009 😂 Thanks so much for the nomination 😀 I’ve done this one already, but I appreciate the thought so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the nomination! 🙂
    You give such great advice! I used to check my stats all the time when I first started but now I barely look at them at all. I completely agree about interacting too! I’ve always been quite shy but this community is so friendly and welcoming that I find leaving comments so much easier than I used to haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the tag, Jess! I did this one a while back but I loved reading about how you started your blog and your advice. I completely agree with you about not focusing on stats and how interaction is important. Talking to other bloggers is one of the best parts of blogging for me. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s really interesting to hear about how you started this blog and I love how you came up with the name! I would 100% agree with the advice you gave and I love the point about interaction, not only does it make blogging more fun, it helps people get to know who you are and creates interest in your own blog. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. PSSSH WHAT JESS NO. You nominated me??? We’ve only known each other for only a couple of hours, and I’m in their with all the super cool bloggers. XD Thank you for my first ever award; you’re too kind! 😀 (I wish I could use emojis, but I’m on my laptop right now).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

