Why I Don’t Have Bookstagram

Hi guys! This is more of a personal post, but since it’s to do with books and social media I’ll lump it in with my book discussions. I just wanted to make a post on my thoughts about bookish Instagram accounts and why I don’t have an account. I did actually create one in the summer and then deleted it like two days. So, here’s a few reasons why I don’t have Insta!

1. Competitiveness 

I’ve seen many bloggers talk about how they feel blogging is competitive within their respective communities (lifestyle, fashion, literature, etc.). And while I can understand this, I’ve never really felt this competitiveness when it comes to blogging. Sure, I feel envious when I see people’s beautiful blog designs, but it’s not something that bugs me or gets me down. However, I do feel that the book community on Instagram is much more competitive: who has the best pictures, the most consistent feed, the best props, the most likes and follows. And that’s something I personally don’t want to be a part of. I feel with Instagram in general there’s this underlying (or not so underlying) game of who can be the best or most popular. It just doesn’t sound fun to me.

2. ‘Perfect’ Instagram feed

So this is where it gets slightly more personal. Definitely the main reason I won’t make another account (bookish, or even a personal account) is because the way my theme/feed looks would literally keep me up at night. I know it sounds silly but it would drive me mad if my feed didn’t look consistent or wasn’t to my liking. I feel the same about my blog too. I doubt many people who follow my blog have noticed, but I’m very particular about how my blog looks, and I’m always making tiny changes to the way it looks. At least with my blog posts I can go back and edit them. It’s incredibly annoying to be this way but I just am… And having an Instagram would just aggravate me further, which brings me on to point 3…

3. Too time consuming

I don’t know this for a fact since obviously I don’t have an account, but isn’t Instagram really time consuming? So much time spend taking photos, finding the right one, then editing it either to your liking, or so it can fit in with your theme. It seems way too time consuming for me, and because I’m so particular about that kind of thing, it would take me ages! I’d rather be reading…

4. Too expensive?

I’m aware that there are bookish accounts that are very minimalist. It’s simply the novel on a white backdrop with pretty flowers and I think if I were to have an account, I would take chill photos like that. But I’ve noticed that a large amount of popular accounts include loads of extras and props in the photo, like cute stationary, subscription boxes, bookish merchandise, Funkos, expensive jewellery and makeup, etc. and someone like me can’t compete with that! I can’t even afford books anymore let alone the additional props! I also think that this point links back to the competitiveness, like who has the nicest-looking props in their book photos. I don’t wanna get caught up in all that (nor can I afford to).

I’m not meaning to be negative with this post – It’s just a topic I’ve wanted to write about for a while and I finally took the time to do it. I’d love to know your thoughts about book accounts on Instagram, or just Instagram in general – I’m sure there are things I’ve missed out or are uneducated on since I don’t have an account. Do you like/dislike bookstagram? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

43 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Have Bookstagram

  1. Hi! =) I have a personal IG which I put on private mode, and simply posts even if the pictures are not perfect, but what matters most they mean something to me.

    Last month I decided to have a separate Bookstagram account, I am overwhelm as we speak hence the Google search and found your article 😂. I totally get all your points and what irks me most are accounts for popularity! The worries for how many likes and followers, I just can’t handle.

    Thank you for indirectly giving me this space to vent. Initially I wanted to give it another month to see if I can get more pros than cons through it eg sharing reading lists, making new real friends etc but I might cut it much shorter 😂

    Cheers

    Like

  2. I get what you’re saying.
    I hate that I can’t make pretty pics, but I seem to still get likes when I just post a pic of my book that I’m reading or one I want to read.
    But I totally get your decision. I would do the same thing if it was making me upset. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love, love, LOVE following bookstagram accounts for the prettiness they bring to my timeline but I could never keep up with one (I created one for my blog to post pictures relating to what I posted, but I haven’t been too active on the bookstagram account), but I do LOVE my personal account. I’ve had it for YEARS now and post pretty consistently – but I don’t care about having a cohesive feed/theme. I just post whatever i want, from selfies, to a quick outfit post, to the books I’m currently reading etc.

    One of my most loved things on my personal instagram account tho are the pictures I took that are really grainy and not perfectly lit or anything, because I was feeling really CONFIDENT that night and I wanted to make sure to remember that. Because for that one night that I felt awesome about myself, I’ve probably had 15 were I didn’t feel at all confident.

    And I love looking back through my posts because they give me joy and happiness and don’t we all need a bit of that?

    This was a really great post, though! You’ve made some awesome points and I can definitely feel the jealousy sometimes when it comes to props in pictures – especially all those cute funko pops! and those shelfies? GOOD LORD is that some serious eye candy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great idea for a post! I do have a Bookstagram, but I barely use it or post on it. It’s just so much pressure, and to be honest, my phone’s camera sucks! Also, I don’t really have the patience to take 20 different pictures and choose the best one.😉

    Like

Leave a Reply!

