#T5W: Favourite Polarising Books

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. Firstly, I missed last week’s topic because I couldn’t think of anything for it (I feel bad). But this week’s topic is favourite books people tend to love or hate. I actually struggled with this one slightly because I’m not actually sure if the novels I have chosen are love/hate, but I came up with four… I did try I promise!!


1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gg

I know Gone Girl gets a lot of crap but I love it!! It’s crazy, pretty much ridiculous but it’s such a fun read.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

f

I liked Fangirl a lot, but I know a lot of people find it, and Rowell’s other works, pretty boring.

3. The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

tcitr

Okay, so I wouldn’t say I loved Catcher, but I’m aware that some people absolutely HATE this novel. And I can understand why, it’s kinda pretentious.

4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

tgg

I used to not like Gatsby as a teen, but reading it again last year for uni, I found that I really enjoyed it.


What novels do you love that people hate? Or vice versa? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

14 thoughts on “#T5W: Favourite Polarising Books

  1. Still have to read Gone Girl, so many people have recommended it to me but I’ve been put off by it because it’s referred to being just like The Girl on The Train and that is one of the books I’ve disliked the most D: – Sarah xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of people love Percy Jackson, but I didn’t like it at all. I didn’t see the hype and I didn’t like the any of the mythology aspects at all, especially in The Sea of Monsters. I hated Sea of Monsters. I’m weird when it comes to Greek mythology, if I’m going to read it, it’s going to be written by the Greeks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

