Favourites: Second Chance Romance Novels

A favourites post! I had this idea to write about my favourite second chance romance novels because I am all about that cheesy goodness. But when it came to thinking of novels to include in this post, I realised that I really can’t think of many! This resulted in a mini crisis where I wasn’t sure who I was anymore because second chance romances are my guilty pleasure and I was sure I had dozens of romance novels to choose from! But surprisingly not. So this post is both a recommendation post, but also a call for recommendations! If you love second chance romances then please feel free to leave me some book recommendations because I am clearly in dire need! Anyways, here are some second chance romance novels I’ve read and enjoyed!  ❤

ph1. Paper Hearts by Claire Contreras

Receiving an exciting job opportunity in New York City, photographer Mia is delighted, but the company she is to work for is the same one her ex-boyfriend Jensen works at as a writer, and she is afraid that she’ll bump into him during her time there. Unfortunately for her, not only does she see him again, but she is forced to work with him on a magazine piece all about love and relationships. Now that Mia is back in his life, Jensen is determined to try everything to win her back, after ruining their relationship when they were college students.

Paper Hearts is the second novel of the Hearts series, (the first novel, Kaleidoscope Hearts is also a second chance romance) and I think this one is my favourite of the three. Very romantic and angsty, with lots of cheese. Book bloggers may like it especially as Jensen is a writer and blogger.

latbnd2. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

All Lola Nolan wants is to graduate high-school, so she can focus her efforts on becoming a professional fashion designer, and for her dads to accept her older musician boyfriend Max. The last thing Lola expects is for her former neighbour and best friend Cricket Bell to come back into her life. College student Cricket admits his romantic feelings towards Lola, but since Lola is already in a relationship, they try to be friends instead.

I liked this novel a lot! One thing that stands out to me about this novel is that Lola isn’t a perfect person, and we see her make numerous mistakes throughout the novel. Her relationship with Cricket is so sweet (Cricket is so dreamy!), and I think a novel like this one will make you reminisce about your first love.

ahr3. Ao Haru Ride/Blue Spring Ride by Io Sakisaka

After receiving a lot of attention from the boys at her school for her cute appearance, Futaba is disliked by the girls at her school as a result. Desperate to stop the hate she receives from these girls, she changes her image to a more unkempt and unladylike version, and declares that she isn’t interested in any boys at their school. But secretly, Futaba wonders about the sweet boy named Kou, who failed to show up for their date after hearing her negative opinion on boys, and then suddenly moved schools without saying goodbye.

I originally watched the anime of Blue Spring Ride (I’m actually watching it as I write this), and since the anime’s ending left me wanting more, I resorted to reading the manga. And I really enjoyed it! Super cute and fun to read, and it will make you feel really nostalgic for your high-school/teenage years. I miss high school  😦

jod4. Just One Day/Just One Year/Just One Night by Gayle Forman

During a trip to London as part of a summer European tour, high-school graduate Allyson meets young actor Willem, as he takes part in an outdoor Shakespeare play. When Willem asks Allyson to spend a day with him in Paris, she takes the risk and spends a wonderful, action-packed 24 hours with him in France.

I actually don’t want to say too much about this series because I feel that Just One Day is so much better when you go into it unaware of the plot. But I loved this novel so much! It’s a great novel for young adults and college students in particular. Not as focused on romance as the other novels on this list, but I’d say it’s my favourite of them all.

Honourable Mentions:
Rake’s Redemption
– Chantal Fernando
Corrupt Me – Jillian Quinn
Kaleidoscope Hearts – Claire Contreras

So those are some of my favourite second chance romances! Have you read any of these novels? Let me know what you thought of them!

Until next time,

jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

10 thoughts on “Favourites: Second Chance Romance Novels

  1. I love second chance romances so much! I haven’t read Paper Hearts, yet, but I’ve read Kaleidoscope Hearts it’s probably my favorite second chance romance. I also really love Lola and the Boy Next Door too. Lola and Cricket were so cute 😍. Another one that I’ve enjoyed is Leo by Mia Sheridan.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

