Book Review: Naughty Boss – Whitney G.

Title: Naughty Boss
Author: Whitney G.
Publication Date: November 15th, 2016
Shelves: New Adult; Contemporary; Romance; Novella
Format: eBook (127 pages)
Rating: ★★☆☆☆ 2 stars

nbGoodreads Synopsis

He definitely wasn’t supposed to get that email…

Subject: My Boss.
Have I already told you that I hate my boss today?

Sexy as hell or not, this pompous, arrogant, ASSHOLE asked me to pick up his dry cleaning the second I walked through the door. Then he told me that I needed to take his Jaguar to a car wash that was ten miles outside of the city, but only after I needed to stand in a never-ending line to buy some type of limited, hundred-dollar watch.

I honestly can’t wait to see the look on his face two months from now when I tell him that I’m quitting his company and that he can kiss my ass. KISS. MY. ASS.

All those former fantasies about him kissing me with his “mouth of perfection” or bending me over my desk and filling me with his cock are long over. OVER.

Your bestie,
Mya

PS–Please tell me your day is going better than mine…

Subject: Re: My Boss.
No, you haven’t already told me that you hate your “boss” today, but seeing as though you’ve sent me this email directly, I know now…

Yes, I did ask you to pick up my dry cleaning the second you arrived to work to day. (Where is it?) And I did tell you to take my Jaguar to the car wash and pick up my thousand-dollar watch. (Thank you for taking five hours to do something that could be accomplished in two.)

You don’t have to wait two months from now to see the look on my face when you tell me you’re quitting. I’m standing outside your office at this very moment. ( Open the door. )

No comment on your “fantasies,” although I highly doubt they’re “long over.”

Your boss,
Michael

PS—Yes. My day is definitely going far better than yours…

littlereview
My first review of 2017, and also a mini review since this novel was really short and also since I’m really off my blogging game lately? I keep making the most simplest of mistakes on my posts and it’s embarrassing and I don’t know what’s wrong with me… but anyways…

What drew me into this novel was that it was so short. I hadn’t read a book in about a month (the last book being Finding Claire which I loved and you can read my review about it here). And while cleaning out my Goodreads TBR this novella caught my eye, and I decided to read it on Christmas Eve. And it was a fun hour well-spent!

Naughty Boss centres around Mya who gets a job at Leighton Publishing working as the executive assistant to Michael Leighton, the notorious, playboy CEO of the company. A job like this for book-loving Mya sounded perfect, except Michael treats her very poorly. After a particularly bad day spent running personal errands for her boss, Mya emails her best friend to complain about him. Except she sends the email to Michael instead…

I liked Mya… somewhat. She’s smart, career focused, and a total ball-buster. She’s also quite immature, but I could overlook that due to Michael’s character (more on that in a moment!). Mya plans to quit her job after working for Michael for a year, and spends a large proportion of the novel complaining about his terrible treatment of her. I was just confused as to why, or even how, she managed to work for him for a whole year if she finds him so terrible. But at least she was more interesting than Michael, who I found to be a pretty average character. He treats the people around him like complete crap for no reason. Acts like a child when he doesn’t get his own way. I can’t really remember much about his character other than that I’m afraid.

Also some moments in this novella seemed off to me. Like an ice skating rink full of people (including families and young children) at THREE in the morning? That was bizarre. Also that they had screaming-loud office sex which must have been heard by employees, and there were no repercussions… The one that made me really mad was right at the end of the novel, where Michael said something to Mya that I found to be REALLY offensive (though I won’t say what to avoid spoilers), and instead of Mya going off at him like I anticipated, they just kissed and made up. What? I was so confused!

I think this novella does have its faults, but I did enjoy the the enemies to lovers aspect because I am a lover for cheese, and their relationship was pretty entertaining in this novel. Put that with the short length and the fast pace of this novella, and it made for a quick, fun read!

conclude

Though this novella is nothing special, Naughty Boss was a fun read that temporarily got me out of my reading slump.

Until next time!
jess
Would you read this novella again? No.
Who would I recommend this novella to? Fans of NA fiction looking for something short to read! Fans of the ‘enemies to lovers’ trope and office romances.

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

Leave a Reply!

