Standalone Sunday #5

Happy New Year everyone! I almost forgot what day it was so this post is a short one – sorry! Standalone Sunday is a weekly tag created by Megan @bookslayerReads, and it’s a great way to recommend novels to people. My chosen novel this week is…

gm

Title: Graffiti Moon
Author: Cath Crowley
Publication Date: February 14th, 2012
Genre: Young Adult; Contemporary; Romance

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley. This novel actually featured in my most recent favourites post, but I love this novel a lot so I’m making it my standalone for this week. The reasons I love this novel are:

1. Lovable Characters: I love these characters so much. They’re a group of teens celebrating finishing high-school when they decide to try to find the mysterious graffiti artists Shadow and Poet, whose art is scattered all over their town. This novel has numerous POVs and I really liked all of them.

2. Depiction of Australia: I’m embarrassed to admit that my idea of what Australia was like stemmed from what I saw on TV, so this novel’s more honest depiction was refreshing for me to see.

3. Poetry: I’m usually not a fan of poetry, but I loved the poetry featured in this novel. Here’s an example from very early in the novel:

Where I lived before

I used to live with my parents
In a house that smelt like cigarettes
And tasted like beer if you touched anything
The kitchen table was a bitter ocean
That came off on my fingers

There were three doors between the fighting and me
And at night I closed them all
I’d lie in bed and block the sounds

By imagining
I was floating
Light years of quiet
Interrupted by breathing
And nothing else

I’d drift through space
And fall through dreams
Into dark skies

Some nights
My brother Jake and I would crawl out the window
And cut across the park
Swing on the monkey bars for a while
On the way to Gran’s house

She’d be waiting
Dressing gown and slippers on
Searching for our shadows

She’d read us
Poetry and fairytales
Where swords took care of dragons
And Jake never said it was a load of shit
Like I thought he would

And then one night
Gran stopped reading before the happy ending
She asked, ‘Leopold, Jake. You want to live in
My spare room?’

Her voice
Sounded like space and dark skies
But that night all my dreams
Had floors


Have you read Graffiti Moon? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments!

And Happy New Year, everyone!
Until next time,
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

10 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday #5

  1. Thank you for recommending this book! I’m a humungous fan of Young Adult Contemporary Romance (as you can tell by my blog name) and am always searching for a new one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book sounds like it would be a great read. I haven’t read a book set in Australia before so, maybe this would be the one to start with. Plus, I am a sucker for some nice poetry! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

