#T5W: Series That Got Worse With Each Book/Season

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. This week’s top 5 is series that got worse with each instalment. In my experience this happens a lot within book trilogies and series – especially when the first novel is fantastic. It can be an almost impossible feat to have each novel in a series live up to the high standard the first novel had. So saying that, the five book series that, in my opinion, got slightly worse with each novel are:


1. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

thegrisha

My Ratings:
Shadow and Bone – Brilliant (5 stars)
Siege and Storm – Not as good as SAB but still pretty good (4 stars)
Ruin and Rising – Okay – pretty depressing and disappointing ending (3 stars)

2. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

divergent

My Ratings:
Divergent
– Loved it (5 stars)
Insurgent – Also really enjoyed it (4.5-5 stars)
Allegiant – A complete, incomprehensible mess (1 star)

3. The Mortal Instruments by Cassie Clare

tmi

My Ratings:
Novels #1, #2, and #3
 – Really enjoyed them (5 stars – but if I read them now I’d probably give the first two books 4 stars and the third book 5 stars)
Novel #4– Boring, waste of time and money (1 star)
Novel #5 and #6 – Liked them (3 stars)

4. Penryn and the End of Days Trilogy by Susan Ee

pateod

My Ratings:
Angelfall – Awesome (4.5 stars)
World After – Disappointed, found it boring (2 stars)
End of Days – Also found it underwhelming but it had a very action-packed ending (3 stars)

5. Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

del

My Ratings:
Delirium
– Liked it (3 stars)
Pandemonium – Actually liked it more than the first novel (though I can’t fully remember since it was so long ago) (3.5 stars)
Requiem – Okay, but have VERY mixed feelings about the ending (3 stars)


Do you agree/disagree with my choices? Let me know in the comments!  😀

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

20 thoughts on “#T5W: Series That Got Worse With Each Book/Season

  1. Ahh nooo not the Grisha 😦 I mean obviously Siege and Storm isn’t as good as Shadow and Bone, and while I hate the ending, I really love Ruin and Rising as a whole! That book amazing if we pretend the ending is not real :p I’m totally agree with Divergent and TMI. Book 4 of TMI is horrible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh it’s a sad, sad circumstances when this thing happens </3 Shadow and Bone was a 3-star but I personally think Siege and Storm was so much better 😛 it was a 5 star for me buuuut I agree with you about Ruin and Rising! It was boring and I hate the OTP and all that :') also yes to Divergent trilogy. Allegiant is just… #NO. Especially the movie, ugh 😦 I loved Angelfall so much and I still loved World After, thought I admit the first half of the book was boring. But at least there's more Penryn Raffe moment towards the end of the book? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

