#T5W: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. This week’s topic is books you want to read in 2017. My TBR list is overwhelmingly long, and many of the novels on my TBR have been there for years. So, here are five of the novels I plan on finally reading over the next twelve months!


1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pap

I really should have read this years ago for university, but I only managed to get around 40% of the way through it before I gave up. I have watched and enjoyed TV/movie/internet adaptations so I’m postive I’ll like the novel, I just need to get round to it.

2. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

svthsa

I’ve heard nothing but good things! It’s been on my TBR for a while now and I’m looking forward to reading this!

3. Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

socck

Again, heard nothing but good things! I feel like I’m seriously missing out so I’m definitely gonna give it a chance.

4. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

co

I love all of Rainbow Rowell’s novels but the fanfiction aspect of Fangirl didn’t really appeal to me so I was reluctant to read this – but I will give it a go next year  😀

5. Saga Series by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

saga

I would love to read more graphic novels next year, and this series is at the top of my list! Looks awesome and I’ve read many rave reviews about it.


Have you read any of the fiction featured on my list? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

23 thoughts on “#T5W: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

  1. I NEED to read Simon VS as well!! I actually started it like a few months ago but decided to put it off because I was two chapters in and it reminded me so much of my previous read 🙈 not the plot itself but the quirky characters and the high school vibe and I needed to take a break from those things 😛 but YOU NEED SIX OF CROWS, obviously! It’s my current favorite fantasy and it’s so so so glorious ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Highly, highly recommend Six of Crows – it’s SO amazing, such a fun and readable story but it also touches on some really complex issues underneath the initial heist storyline.

    If you’ve enjoyed adaptations of it then Austen’s Pride and Predjudice is well worth persevering with, in my opinion… though I’m a little biased when I say that because it’s one of my favourite books!

    (My T5W)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve tried to read Pride and Prejudice so many times but I struggle so much, I think to this day, I still haven’t made it past the first 30 pages lol, it’s a classic so I want to read it but I don’t think it ever will haha. I’m hoping to fit Six of Crows in this year and Crooked Kingdom in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

