Standalone Sunday #3

Standalone Sunday was created by Megan @bookslayerReads and I highly recommend doing this tag! It’s a great way to recommend books to people (details are over at Megan’s blog). And my chosen standalone novel this week is….

land

Title: Landline
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publication Date: July 8th, 2014
Genre: Contemporary; Romance

Landline by Rainbow Rowell! This will sound odd, but I think out of Rowell’s four big standalone novels, this one is my least favourite. I was underwhelmed the first time I read it, but during  my re-read I fell in love! So, the reasons I’ve chosen Landline are because:

1. MAGIC!: This novel has magical elements in it which I really liked. Our protagonist Georgie McCool has a magic telephone that enables her to have phone conversations with her husband Neal, back when they were dating. It was a nice change for me to read a comtemporary novel that had a small touch of magic in it – and I feel that the magical element doesn’t consume the novel either.

2. Flashbacks: I really like flashbacks in books (when they’re done well, of course), and in this novel we have current-day, thirty-something Georgie, with flashbacks to college-student Georgie. The flashbacks are my favourite thing about this novel, I loved seeing her college life and how she met and fell in love with her future husband. Cute! 

3. Rowell’s Writing: So this is a (weird?) fact about me, but I HATE writing creatively. I’m terrible at it and it isn’t fun for me, so I don’t do it. But of course I love to read it, and when I read Rowell’s writing I always think to myself ‘If I were a writer, I’d love to write like her.’ I really love the way she writes and all of her books are so quotable. And this book is no exception. So many gorgeous quotes!!

“When I wake up on Sunday mornings—late, you always let me sleep in—I come looking for you, and you’re in the backyard with dirt on your knees and two little girls spinning around you in perfect orbit. And you put their hair in pigtails, and you let them wear whatever madness they want, and Alice planted a fruit cocktail tree, and Noomi ate a butterfly, and they look like me because they’re round and golden, but they glow for you.”

4. Fangirl Easter Egg: So Cath & Levi from Fangirl pop up in this novel, and lets just say I was not disappointed  😀


Have you read Landline? What were your thoughts? And what is your Sunday Standalone novel? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

15 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday #3

  1. Oops. I got cut off on my comment lol. Anyway… I’ve always wanted to read this book but you have definitely sold me even more with the Magic part! A magical phone that she can use to talk to her husband when they were dating? Sounds fun! Thanks for the rec, Jess!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

