#T5W: Characters You Used To Love But Don’t Anymore

Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. I actually missed last week’s post because I has no ideas for the topic. But this week’s topic is characters you used to love but don’t anymore. I’m sure we all have characters we no longer love for whatever reason. A lot of my choices are characters I enjoyed as a teenager, but now that I’m older I realise how much they suck! Also, can I just say, if you like any of the characters I’ve listed – no hard feelings! This is all just for fun. So, in no particular order…


diver1. Tris Prior – Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

I used to really love this series. I’ve only been reading books for pleasure for about 5 years now, and Divergent was one of the first books I chose to pick up and read. And they were super fun books (minus Allegiant I HATE that book!). But Tris Prior is a character I used to really like but now no longer do. Flicking through the novel several years later, I realised just how incredibly judgemental Tris is. She’s not perfect (I don’t expect her, or any character ever to be perfect) but I just found this attribute to be really disappointing in a YA protagonist I previously liked:

tgg2. Nick Carraway – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I’m sure a lot of us have had been forced to read Gatsby at least once at school. I’ve had to read this twice (high school & university) and reading it the second time kinda made me dislike Nick. He’s viewed as the guy the reader relates to the most – he acts as a bridge of sorts between the reader and the vacuous 1920s lifestyle the likes of Daisy and Tom lead. I saw him as the only likeable character during my first reading, but I now no longer feel that way. While I do see him as the most important character (perhaps beside Gatsby?), I just don’t like his character anymore. I can’t quite put my finger on why…

pt3. Margo Roth Spiegelman – Paper Towns by John Green

Margo!! I wouldn’t say I loved her at any point but I didn’t hate her when I first read Paper Towns. I thought she was cool and wiser than her years. Looking back though, I realise just how pretentious and insanely selfish she is!

Just one of many quotes in this novel that I previously thought was ‘cool’:

“I’ve lived here for eighteen years and I have never once in my life come across anyone who cares about anything that matters.”

I’m cringing so hard!

sherlock4. Sherlock Holmes – Cumberbatch Version

I loved this series when it first came out. It went a little something like this:

Series One: cool!

Series Two: HOLY SHIT!!

Series Three: …meh.

I just fell out of love with this series (and the Cumberbatch) to the point where I’m embarrassed to talk about it. I feel like the show became a victim of its own hype and I gladly gave up on it a long time ago.

slammed5. Will Cooper – Slammed by Colleen Hoover

I didn’t care much for this series or any of the characters – I think this series is beyond melodramatic! I didn’t mind Will Cooper all that much in the first novel, but when we got his POV in the second novel Point of Retreat he turned into a pretty unlikable character for me. He was such a whiny man-child. He’s also really, unnecessarily aggressive at times and that made me uncomfortable – punching things and screaming swearwords whenever he’s mad like dude chill.


Do you have any characters you no longer love? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

14 thoughts on “#T5W: Characters You Used To Love But Don’t Anymore

  1. I never liked Tris tbh.. or really any characters in the Divergent series. And the only Divergent book I liked was the first one, and I couldn’t even make it halfway through the last one. I also never liked Margot! She was always so selfish! Your life is not as bad as you think it is! I still love Sherlock, but it’s not my favorite show.
    Check out my post?
    https://thebookprophetcom.wordpress.com/2016/11/09/t5w-characters-you-used-to-love-but-dont-anymore/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. True on Nick and Benedict–I fell out with Downton Abbey after Edith was jilted. I didn’t write about it this week because I did at the time. Meh sums up Sherlock and Downton now. Both had great potential. Have you read Lock & Mori or Study in Charlotte? Both new versions of Holmes and Watson, both great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

