#HalloweenWR Update: Week 2

Another update from me about how I’m doing with Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews’ Halloween Read-a-Thon! The read-a-thon runs from the 10th – 31st of October. If you want to take part, it’s still not too late! Visit Lauren’s post for all the details.

So last week I completed another challenge (although I didn’t read the novel I said I was going to read), and I’m also in the process of completing a third challenge.

haunted-house

th
So for this challenge I originally planned to read Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma. While I still plan to read that novel at some point outside of this read-a-thon, I instead read an ARC of Two Hearts by David Connor and E.F. Mulder. It’s about a mortician’s assistant named Frank who is struck by lightning one afternoon and is left unable to touch anyone in case he accidentally electrocutes and kills them. It was a fun read – very Frankenstein-esque which I love,  and I’ll be writing a separate post on this book next month when it is released on November 30th.

urban-legends

you
For this challenge, I’m currently reading the novel I did originally choose, which is You by Caroline Kepnes. As I’m writing this post, I’ve read 20% of the novel. It’s an odd book I must admit, though I’m just not as enthralled as I thought I would be (though that may be because of my reading slump).

The novel’s premise is what got me interested in reading it (and what also put me off reading it for so long). The criminal, creepy stalker guy being the narrator. I actually really love unreliable narrators, but I just don’t find the narrator, Joe Goldberg, at all ‘charming’ or ‘funny’ as some reviews say. I’m not sucked into his narrative at all. He’s jealous and pretentious and incredibly annoying. But I’m keeping at it because I’m curious to see what’s going to happen. And I also want to finish another challenge!

So I’m sad to say I won’t be completing this read-a-thon. I admit defeat! However, I am hoping to complete 3 challenges, and if I change my trick or treat novel then maybe even 4 challenges.

Are you taking part in the read-a-thon? Let me know how you’re doing so far!

Until next time!
– Jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

11 thoughts on “#HalloweenWR Update: Week 2

Leave a Reply!

