#T5W: Favourite Non-Canon Ships

I’m finally joining in on a weekly book tag! Top 5 Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey and is hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes – details about this group can be found on Goodreads. I’ve wanted to join in on a tag since I started WordPress, and this one was my favourite (and seemed the least taxing to do). So, this week’s topic is favourite non-canon ships. I must admit that this is a pretty mixed bag of genres and couples! I was clutching at straws a little toward the end but I did it! So, in no particular order…


cp21. Herongraystairs (Tessa, Will, & Jem) – The Infernal Devices by Cassie Claire

“How they loved each other, these three, how they had suffered for each another, and yet how much joy they clearly took from simply being in the same room.”

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this on this blog yet, but I love absolutely everything about The Infernal Devices series. But one of my favourite things about the series is the relationship between Tessa, Will and Jem. They are all so supportive and defensive of each other and it’s adorable! Not to mention some of their conversations are hilarious. Putting it simply: they all love each other and I love them!

ylia2. Arima Kousei & Miyazono Kaori – Your Lie in April by Naoshi Arakawa

“After the first note resonated through the hall, you became everything I yearn for.”

Almost two years later and I’m still crying over Your Lie in April. I love how strongly Kousei and Kaori influence each other, both in their feelings toward music and life. I’d definitely recommend the manga/anime, it’s brilliant (but prepare for major heartbreak!)

md3. Peter Walsh & Clarissa Dalloway – Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

“For a single second she could not remember what he was called! so surprised she was to see him, so glad, so shy, so utterly taken aback to have Peter Walsh come to her unexpectedly in the morning!”

Some would argue that these are canon giving the sorta hopeful ending of Mrs. Dalloway, but would it have killed for a more concrete ending, Woolf? I like these two characters together a lot, I think they’re soulmates! And Peter was so in love with Clarissa for so long (she actually rejected his proposal but lets gloss over that). I want my two favourite characters in the book together!

tdt4. Blue Sargent & Noah Czerny – The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

“I know somebody you could kiss.”

My heart. I think I love all the characters in this series, it’s one of the many reasons this quartet is so brilliant. Noah and Blue make a great pair. Noah especially is such a cutie that deserves so much better than what he got! With this series also, there are so many non-canon ships I can think of, but I chose Sargent & Czerny because I think they’re adorable.

bb5. Will Sumner & George Mercer – Beautiful Bastard Series by Christina Lauren

“Are you going to ruin me?”
“I’m sure as fuck gonna try.”

This is kind of a joke one – I was slightly running out of ideas! But Dr. Sumner is a total catch so who can blame George really.


So that’s my list! Which non-canon couples do you ship? Leave me a response below 😀

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

8 thoughts on “#T5W: Favourite Non-Canon Ships

Leave a Reply!

