#HalloweenWR Update: Week 1

Quick update from me about how I’m doing with Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews‘ Halloween Read-a-Thon! The read-a-thon runs from the 10th – 31st of October. If you want to take part, it’s not too late! Visit Lauren’s post for all the details.

Over the past week I’ve completed a grand total one 1 out of 6 challenges. I’d hoped to complete two challenges a week but hopefully I’ll do better next week!

witching-hour1

tr

I completed the Witching Hour task, and I read Edgar Allan Poe’s The Raven. It was 6 am, and when I stumbled across a free audio version online, I decided to listen to it instead. Since it was still dark outside I’m counting it as being after sunset! The version I listened to is narrated by Christopher Lee and it was brilliant! And listening to it in the dark definitely added to the creepy experience.

The Raven was a beautiful and quite sad read about a man in deep denial about the death of a woman named Lenore. The audio version was entertaining, but I think I might go back and read the illustrated version I originally chose, just so I can see the accompanying art.

If you want to check out the audio version I listened to, you can listen to it here. I highly recommend it!

By next week, I’m hoping I’ll have a total of 3 challenges completed, although I feel slightly overwhelmed with reading right now so we’ll see. I think listening to audiobooks help take the stress off, so I might just stick to those for a while.

Are you taking part in a spooky read-a-thon? Let me know how you’re doing so far!

Until next time,
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

2 thoughts on “#HalloweenWR Update: Week 1

Leave a Reply!

