Mini Book Review: Millie Hardiman and the Red Parrot Fever – Eddie Owens

Title: Millie Hardiman and the Red Parrot Fever
Author: Eddie Owens
Shelves: Childrens; Young Adult; Humour
Format: eBook (131 pages)
Rating:★★★☆☆ 3.5 stars

mhatrpfGoodreads Synopsis:

Millie Hardiman is a thirteen year old from Bognor Regis, with a wild imagination, who dreams of becoming a writer.

When Millie’s scriptwriter Dad, Barry, has writer’s block, Millie becomes his muse for the daytime television soap, Double Top.

After her success on Double Top, Millie creates a Sci-Fi, teen drama, The Adventures of Martian Girl.

Millie falls in love for the first time with Wolf Van Der Beek, an arrogant, South African child actor.

This is a story about friendship, first love and growing up.

littlereview

I received a copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review

Thirteen year-old Millie has the wildest imagination, and is always telling crazy, elaborate stories to the people in her hometown Bognor. With this creative skill set, she has dreams of becoming a writer, and looks up to adventurous authors such as Jack London. Millie’s father Barry is a script writer for TV show Double Top, and when he experiences writer’s block, he turns to his imaginative daughter for new ideas. After this success, Millie’s next project Martian Girl leads her to child actor Wolf Van Der Beek, and the two begin a romance. But does Wolf truly have feelings for Millie, or is he using her to boost his acting career?

Millie was obviously the brightest thing about this novel. She’s a great character – both because she’s hilarious and smart, but also because for the most part, she really does sound and behave like a thirteen year old girl. I must admit that I grew slightly frustrated with her behaviour and her stories, but overall I really liked her character. Millie’s friends, Penny and Chunk, were a great addition to the novel, but I wish their characters were fleshed out more. Gwen and Barry, Millie’s parents, were also pretty entertaining characters. I’ve read YA novels where the protagonist’s parents are practically non-existent, and I thought Millie’s close relationship with her parents was really sweet. Their interactions also added a lot of humour to the novel – both with each other and with their daughter. I found the funniest moments in the novel to be between Millie and her exasperated parents.

In terms of the novel’s plot, it was mostly light-hearted and fun, with great morals – especially for its younger audience. However, I feel like there were some big leaps ahead in the story, and it would have been interesting to actually read about them as opposed to being briefly told about them (i.e. the creation of Martian Girl, and Millie and Wolf’s relationship) I also think that the synopsis gives away too much of the plot of this novel.

conclude

I can’t remember the last time I read a children’s novel, and I had a lovely afternoon tucked away from the typically terrible English weather reading this lovely book.

Until next time!
jess
Would I read this novel again: Yes!
Who would I recommend this novel to? Readers of any age looking for a funny, quick read!

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

4 thoughts on “Mini Book Review: Millie Hardiman and the Red Parrot Fever – Eddie Owens

      • I actually just got emailed from the author, and he asked me if I would review it. I said yes, but I don’t have much patience with middle grade…there’s still one on my Goodreads page that I’ve been meaning to finish but can’t stay into it. I have no patience for books that don’t have some romance or action, I guess.
        But he went to the trouble to email me, so I’m going to read it. You liked it well enough it seems…

        Liked by 1 person

        • If it helps this novel is pretty short, I had it read in about two to three hours. I think this novel’s odd because the cover makes it look childish but when you read the novel there’s some discussions about sex and there’s also swearing in it – not much but it’s there. The cover’s slightly misleading I think.

          Like

Leave a Reply!

