Halloween Read-a-Thon TBR

As soon as I saw Lauren @Wonderless Reviews‘ Halloween read-a-thon announcement, I was determined to give it a go. I’m hoping that by participating in this read-a-thon, it will help me explore what is to me a genre I very rarely read, and it’s a great way to get in the mood for Halloween. The majority of the novels featured in my list are novels that were already on my massive TBR list, so this read-a-thon also serves as kick up the arse to read some of these novels. I’ve already peeked at other blogger’s TBR lists and mine is so wimpy in comparison! I’m sorry i’m such a baby when it comes to all things spooky but I’m giving it a go regardless.

The Halloween read-a-thon runs from the 10th – 31st of OctoberI’m excited to get started! If you’re interested, visit Lauren’s post for all the details.

(The banners below are courtesy of Lauren – thank you!)

costume-party

sgmb
Slasher Girl & Monster Boys
– Various Authors

Truthfully, this wasn’t the creepiest cover I came across during my Goodreads search, but this was a book already on my TBR list and the cover is quite weird. I’m not entirely sure what it is I’m looking at right now…

Recommended for fans of The Walking Dead and American Horror Show, Slasher Girls & Monster Boys is an anthology containing a selection of horror stories from a variety of YA authors. Currently, the only author whose works I’m familiar with on this list is Leigh Bardugo, so I’m looking forward to getting to read works from a lot of new authors.

haunted-house

ig
Imaginary Girls
 
– Nova Ren Suma

Deciding on a paranormal novel, I chose Nova Ren Suma’s Imaginary Girls, which was another novel already on my TBR list. This is a YA murder mystery novel with elements of the paranormal in the form of ghosts, as protagonist Chloe, and her older sister Ruby, swim across the flooded ‘ghost’ town of Olive, which was deliberately flooded to make room for a reservoir. It is here where they stumble across the dead body of one of Chloe’s classmates, and her life changes forever.

From looking at reviews on Goodreads, this novel has pretty mixed reviews, but that beautiful book cover has enticed me to give this novel a go. I’m a complete sucker for pretty book covers.

urban-legendstgott
The Girl on the Train
 
– Paula Hawkins

Since this novel’s film adaptation will be playing in cinemas throughout October, I’ve decided to finally give it a go. Also, did I hear unreliable narrators? Because if so, I’m there!

Rachel takes the same train every morning and every night. On this train, she can see her house where her ex-husband lives with his new partner. Down the street, she also sees a couple, who she believes lead perfect suburban lives. Until one morning she sees something shocking. Informing the police about what she saw, she finds herself involved in the police investigation, and entangled into the lives of the people involved in the crime. Although this has mixed reviews, the premise is interesting enough for me to give it a go.

witching-hour1

tr
The Raven
– Edgar Allan Poe

Knowing I would get lazy during this read-a-thon, I wanted to include a quick read to my list. It’s nice to know I can complete one of these challenges in under five minutes. So I decided on Poe’s The Raven.

The only Poe work I’ve read is The Black Cat, and when I was first considering fiction to read for the read-a-thon, Poe was one of the first writers that came to mind. Also, Victorian Gothic literature gets me so hyped for Halloween! I’m undecided whether to read the poem with or without illustrations, or even to listen to the audio version I stumbled across on YouTube. Let me know what you think!

trick-or-treat

you
You
– Caroline Kepnes

I tried reading this novel last year but it got pushed to the side in favour of cutesy, fluffy novels (i was super stressed at the time). I’ve heard good things about this novel, so now is a good a time as any to read it! You centres on stalker Joe Goldberg, who worms his way into Guinevere Beck’s life after meeting her at the bookstore where he works. It’s told from Joe’s POV which is the most interesting aspect for me. I love me an unreliable narrator!

I think the last time I read a suspense novel for fun was Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and I really liked that book. I’m hoping this novel is just as good. I’m contemplating getting the audiobook, as I think listening to it will add an extra layer of creepiness!

all-hallows-eve

wifw
White is for Witching
 
– Helen Oyeyemi

This novel is the only re-read featured in my list, and I’ve included it simply because I want to read it again. This novel featured in my Postcolonial module at uni and I thought this book was so damn eerie and interesting!

Set in Dover, England, White is for Witching follows Pica sufferer Miranda as she sets off for Cambridge university following the mysterious death of her mother. This novel applies traditional gothic tropes to modern-day Britain, as it tackles the subject of racism in light of multiculturalism. This novel is pretty creepy and I’m looking forward to reading it again.

Let me know what you think of my book choices! What scary novels are you reading this October?

Until next time!
jess

Also find me on Tumblr || Goodreads || Twitter

17 thoughts on “Halloween Read-a-Thon TBR

  1. The Raven is so good; I love Poe! My favorite work of his is by far The Fall of the House of Usher; it’s delightfully gothic and creepy! I’m looking forward to getting around to The Girl on the Train! Happy haunted reading and good luck! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

